A person may not drive a motor vehicle upon a highway unless the person holds a valid driver’s license. Violators may be charged with Driving Without a License. Charges may occur because of failure to renew a driver’s license, or never having obtained a license, or failure of a new California resident to secure a California driver’s license within 10 days. Driving with a suspended license will trigger the more serious offense of Driving on a Suspended License.
What does the prosecutor have to prove?
1. Defendant drove a motor vehicle upon a highway.
2. Defendant did not hold a valid driver’s license issued by the Department of Motor Vehicles.
Misdemeanor: 00-180 days